"The Artists of The TARO Award I" Exhibition

Taro Okamoto Museum of Art, Kawasaki

poster for "The Artists of The TARO Award I" Exhibition

This event has ended.

The Taro Award was founded in 1997 in memory of the late Toshiko Okamoto’s fervent desire to bring more international exposure to artists who perpetuate the ethos of Taro Okamoto and deliver sharp messages to modern society through the independent views and modes of expression in their work. Since then, the Taro Award has been given out annually for more than a decade. This has led to the discovery of a great number of contemporary artists who are very active both at home and abroad, propelling them to greater heights and encouraging them to gradually expand upon Taro Okamoto’s avant-garde genius. The award also makes visible the late Toshiko Okamoto's fervent passion to ensure this is carried out.
Taking a cue from Okamoto himself, the Taro Okamoto Museum of Art hopes to furnish artists with opportunities for fostering new talent. One way that the museum does this is by featuring six Taro Award-winning artists from the 4th through to the 9th Annual competitions: namely Noriaki Imai, Rika Eguchi, Yoshiaki Kaihatsu, Sachiko Kazama, Koji Tanada, and Yasushi Yokoiyama. At our gallery, the artists can display the fruits of their own steady evolution since receiving the Taro Award, as well as showcasing their latest works.

[Image: Rika Eguchi "The Eggs of Barnbrook" Outstanding Award of the 6th]



From 2008-10-11 To 2009-01-12



All content on this site is © their respective owner(s).
Tokyo Art Beat (2004 - 2019) - About - Contact - Privacy - Terms of Use