Haruna Tokimatsu’s Calendar

Takashimaya Shinjuku Art Gallery

poster for Haruna Tokimatsu’s Calendar
[Image: Haruna Tokimatsu "Tokimatsu Haruna's 72 seasons" mechanical pencil, watercolor, color pencil on paper, 17.5x18.6cm]

This event has ended.

There are four distinct seasons in Japan: spring, summer, autumn, winter. Those who have spent a lot of time in Japan will have noticed the changing face of these seasons, as well as the seasonal delights that accompany them. Meanwhile, “Shichi juni-ko (72 Seasons)” is a traditional calendar that breaks down seasonal changes into more detail, expressing them through terms relating to plant growth, animal behaviors, and climactic changes. Here Haruna Tokimatsu presents her illustrated “72 Seasons,” a series of work inhabited by all kinds of unique characters.



from January 31, 2018 to February 12, 2018



All content on this site is © their respective owner(s).
Tokyo Art Beat (2004 - 2019) - About - Contact - Privacy - Terms of Use