Origins of the Postwar Design Movement – The Design Committee

Taro Okamoto Museum of Art, Kawasaki
Until Jan 16


Taro Okamoto, Kenzo Tange, Isamu Kenmochi, Sori Yanagi, Kunio Maekawa, Charlotte Perriand
Focuses on the activities and exchanges between the founding members of the Design Committee (now the Japan Design Committee), a postwar group affiliated with leading Japanese architects, designers, and artists that included Sori Yanagi, Masahiro Mori, and others.




Closed on November 4th, November 24th, December 29th to January 3rd, and January 11th.

Venue Hours

09:30 ~ 17:00
Closed on Monday
Open on public holiday Monday but closed on the following day. Closed during the New Year holidays.
FeeAdult ¥1000, College and High School student and Seniors 65 and over ¥800, Junior High School student and under free.
VenueTaro Okamoto Museum of Art, Kawasaki
Location7-1-5 Masukata, Tama-ku, Kawasaki-shi, Kanagawa 214-0032
Access17 minute walk from the South exit of Mukogaoka-yuen Station on the Odakyu line; From the South exit of Mukogaoka-yuen Station, take the bus and get off at Ikuta Ryokuchi Iriguchi. The venue is 8 minute walk from there.