Yokoyama Taikan Memorial Hall
Museum in The Ueno, Yanaka area
Japanese painter Yokoyama Taikan (1868-1958) started living in this building in 1909. The site, which was initially small, expanded to its maximum size in 1918. However, the house was destroyed by the air raid in 1945 and Taikan temporarily moved to a villa in Atami Izuyama. In 1954, the new house was rebuilt using the foundation of the burned-out house and Taikan resumed living in Ikenohata again. He made many works here until passing away at the age of 90 in 1958.
After the death of his wife Shizuko, the Yokoyama Taikan Memorial Foundation was established and opened to the public with the donation of Taikan's works, studies, relics, drawings, sketchbooks, etc. Our motto is a museum where visitors can experience peace of mind, making the most of the atmosphere of the building as much as possible. Taking off their shoes to enter, visitors can fully enjoy the beauty of Japanese architecture.
Current or Upcoming Events
Taikan Yokoyama, Shunso Hishida
From 10:00 to 16:00
Closed on Mondays, Tuesdays
Adults ¥800, High School and Junior High School Students ¥650, Elementary School Students ¥300, Persons with Disability Certificates ¥650