William Morris “The Beauty of Living”

Fuchu Art Museum

poster for William Morris “The Beauty of Living”

This event has ended.

An exhibition from the poet, thinker and leader of the arts and craft movement of the 19th century, William Morris. Although first beginning his engagement in the arts through painting and architecture his final choice was to be the decorative arts, bringing color to everyday living. In the second part of the 19th century the industrial revolution had taken Britain by storm and people’s everyday lives had become increasingly infiltrated by cheap, badly finished mass produced goods. Morris took a bold stand against this course and came to emphasize the importance of careful use of skill and consideration in the individual production of goods, coming to join with artists, architects and designers to found the arts and crafts movement. This exhibition places a particular spotlight upon the home furnishings of Morris’ design, with weaves, dyes and other textiles, wall paper and other fixtures of living. The show also includes the remake of his famed stained glass work, reproduced based on old photographs.
[Image: William Morris “Strawberry Thief” 1883)]

[Related Event]
Talk Event
Date: 3rd November(Fri) 14:00-
Venue: Lecture Room
Admission: Free
20 minute slide lecture
Date: 21st September(Sat), 5th October(Sat), 13th October(Sun), 19th October(Sat), 27th October(Sun), 2nd November(Sat), 10th November(Sun), 16th November(Sat), 30th November(Sat) 14:00-, 15:00- (Held twice a day)

Media

special discount

Discount Available
Download the MuPon app for iPhone to get a discount on entry to this event and dozens more.

>> Find out more & download

Schedule

From 2013-09-14 To 2013-12-01
Open on 30th September, 7th October, Free admission on 14th October

Artist(s)

William Morris

Facebook

Reviews

All content on this site is © their respective owner(s).
Tokyo Art Beat (2004 - 2019) - About - Contact - Privacy - Terms of Use